Fees and Fiscal Information
Admission Application Fee
An individual who applies for admission to the University of Florida shall pay a non-refundable application fee of $30. While personal checks are accepted, the preferred method of payment is an online MasterCard, Visa or American Express credit card payment, which can be transmitted electronically on ISIS, the university's secure web site. If paying by credit card, a $1.75 service fee will be added automatically to the $30 fee, so the total application fee is $31.75.
Admission Tuition Deposit
Pursuant to 6C1-3.0376(11) Regulations of the University of Florida, the $200 admission deposit paid by the individual shall be applied toward payment of that individual's tuition upon enrollment. The admission deposit shall not be reimbursed to an individual who does not enroll in the term offered for admission. The deposit is waived for those individuals who have provided documentation that they have received an application fee waiver because of economic need as determined by the College Board, American College Testing Program, Law School Admissions Council, the American Association of Medical Colleges Fee Assistance Program or the American Association of Dental Schools Application Service.
While personal checks are accepted, the preferred method of payment is an online MasterCard, Visa or American Express credit card payment, which can be transmitted electronically on ISIS, the university's secure website. If paying by credit card, a $1.75 service fee will be added automatically to the $200 admission deposit, so the total admission deposit is $201.75.
Back to Top
Registration and Tuition Fees Liability
Pursuant to Section 6C1-3.037(1) Regulations of the University of Florida, registration shall be defined as consisting of two components: a) formal enrollment in one or more credit courses approved and scheduled by the university; and b) fee payment, or other appropriate arrangements for fee payment (deferment or third-party billing) for the courses in which the student is enrolled as of the end of the drop/add period.
Registration must be completed on or before the date specified in the university calendar. Students are not authorized to attend class unless they are on the class roll or have been approved to audit. Unauthorized class attendance will result in fee liability.
Fee Liability – Pursuant to Section 3.037 Regulations of the University of Florida, a student is liable for all tuition fees associated with all courses for which the student is registered at the end of the drop/add period. The fee payment deadline is 3:30 p.m. on the second Friday after classes begin.
Assessment of Tuition Fees
Pursuant to Section UF-3.0375 Regulations of the University of Florida, tuition shall be assessed on residency, first enrolled term of the current degree, course level and program.
Students can calculate and pay their own tuition fees on the secure my.ufl.edu portal.
To estimate your tuition fees and determine your student status, visit www.fa.ufl.edu/bursar.
Lack of written notification of the tuition fee debt does not negate the student’s responsibility to pay by the published deadline.
For purposes of discussion, the word term refers to the fall semester, the spring semester and any of the summer semesters. Definitions of first enrolled term of the current degree program are as follows:
Fall 2012 Tuition Fee Criteria
- A first-time admitted and enrolled degree-seeking student registered for Fall 2012, Spring 2013 or Summer 2013 term.
- A non-degree seeking student.
- A UF graduate admitted to a new degree program for Fall 2012, Spring 2013 or Summer 2013 term.
- A former student who is readmitted for Fall 2012, Spring 2013 or Summer 2013 term after an absence of two or more consecutive terms, excluding military withdrawals.
Fall 2011 Tuition Fee Criteria
Back to Top
- A first-time admitted and enrolled degree-seeking student registered for Fall 2011, Spring 2012 or Summer 2012 term.
- A UF graduate admitted to a new degree program for Fall 2011, Spring 2012 or Summer 2012 term.
- A former student who is readmitted for Fall 2011, Spring 2012 or Summer 2012 term after an absence of two or more consecutive terms.
Fall 2010 Tuition Fee Criteria
- A first-time admitted and enrolled degree-seeking student registered for Fall 2010, Spring 2011 or Summer 2011 term.
- A UF graduate admitted to a new degree program for Fall 2010, Spring 2011 or Summer 2011 term.
- A former student who is readmitted for Fall 2010, Spring 2011 or Summer 2011 term after an absence of two or more consecutive terms.
Fall 2009 Tuition Fee Criteria
- A first-time admitted and enrolled degree-seeking student registered for Fall 2009, Spring 2010 or Summer 2010 term.
- A UF graduate admitted to a new degree program for Fall 2009, Spring 2010 or Summer 2010 term.
- A former student who is readmitted for Fall 2009, Spring 2010 or Summer 2010 term after an absence of two or more consecutive terms.
Fall 2008 Tuition Fee Criteria
Back to Top
- A first-time admitted and enrolled degree-seeking student registered for Fall 2008, Spring 2009 or Summer 2009 term.
- A UF graduate admitted to a new degree program for Fall 2008, Spring 2009 or Summer 2009 term.
- A former student who is readmitted for Fall 2008, Spring 2009 or Summer 2009 term after an absence of two or more consecutive terms.
Assessment of Student Fees
Activity and Service Fee (3.0372 Regulations of the University of Florida) – All students must pay an activity and service fee that is assessed on a per credit hour basis and is included in the basic rate per credit hour.
Athletic Fee (3.0372 Regulations of the University of Florida) – All students must pay an athletic fee that is assessed on a per credit hour basis and is included in the basic rate per credit hour. Graduate research and teaching assistants enrolled for eight (8) or more credit hours during the fall or spring semesters and all other students enrolled for nine (9) or more credits can purchase athletic tickets at the student rate.
Audit Fee (6C1-3.0376(18) Regulations of the University of Florida) – Tuition fees for audited courses are assessed at the applicable resident or non-resident cost as set forth in Regulation 6C1-3.0375.
Diploma Replacement Fee (6C1-3.0376(13) Regulations of the University of Florida) – Each diploma ordered after a student’s initial degree application can result in a diploma replacement charge not to exceed $10.
Health Fee (3.0372 Regulations of the University of Florida) – All students must pay a health fee that is assessed on a per credit-hour basis and is included in the basic rate per credit hour. The health fee maintains the university’s Student Health Service and is not part of any health insurance a student may purchase.
Material and Supply and Equipment Use Fee – Material and supply fees are assessed for certain courses to offset the cost of materials or supply items consumed in the course of instruction. The equipment use fee program allows units to charge for significant equipment that is used to prepare students for their careers or professions and is used for instructional purposes only with direct use by students. Material and supply and equipment use fee information is available from the academic departments or from the schedule of courses (Florida Statutes FS 1009.24).
Back to Top
Off-campus Educational Activities (6C1-3.0376(19) Regulations of the University of Florida) – The president of the University of Florida or the president’s designee will establish fees for off-campus course offerings when the location results in specific identifiable increased costs to the university. These fees will be in addition to the regular tuition and fees charged to students enrolling in these courses on campus. As used herein, off campus refers to locations other than regular main campus, branch campuses and centers.
Registration for Zero Hours (6C1-3.0376(17) Regulations of the University of Florida) – The student is assessed the applicable resident or nonresident cost as set forth in Rule 6C1-3.0375, for one credit hour.
Technology Fee (UF-3.3075 Regulations of the University of Florida) – All students must pay a technology fee that is assessed on a per credit hour basis and is included in the basic rate per credit hour.
Transcript Fee (6C1-3.0376(12) Regulations of the University of Florida) – A complete transcript for current undergraduate, graduate and professional students can be purchased for a fee of $6. Cost for a non-enrolled student and a student who has not been registered at the university for two or more terms is $12. The university releases only complete academic records.
Transportation Access Fee (6C1-3.009 Regulations of the University of Florida) – All students must pay a transportation access fee that is assessed on a per credit hour basis and is included in the basic rate per credit hour.
All charges may be subject to change without notice.
Back to Top
Repeat Course Fee
Beginning Fall 1997, any undergraduate course numbered 1000-4999 at the university for which a student registers three or more times will be subject to a repeat course fee at 100 percent of the full cost of instruction, calculated annually. Courses taken before Fall 1997 are excluded.
Excluded from the fee are individual study, courses numbered X900-X999, courses dropped or withdrawn without fee liability, cooperative education courses, military science courses with prefixes AFR, MLS and NSC, and courses approved for multiple registrations.
All students, regardless of classification or residency status, will be assessed the fee per (6C1-3.0375(4t) Regulations of the University of Florida).
Excess Hours Fee
Pursuant to 1009.286, Florida Statutes, an additional student payment for hours exceeding baccalaureate degree program completion requirements at state universities.
Back to Top
- For the 2012-13 academic year and thereafter, an excess hour surcharge equal to 100 percent of the tuition rate for each credit hour in excess of 110 percent.
- For the 2011-12 academic year, an excess hour surcharge equal to 100 percent of the tuition rate for each credit hour in excess of 115 percent.
- For the 2009-10 and 2010-11 academic years, an excess hour surcharge equal to 50 percent of the tuition rate for each credit hour in excess of 120 percent.
Payment of Tuition Fees
Tuition fees are payable on the dates listed in the academic calendar. Deadlines are enforced. Tuition fee payments are processed by the University Bursar. Payments sent via U.S. mail must be received in the university cashier's office by the established fee payment deadline. The deadline date is a receipt date, not a postmark date.
According to university policy, university cashiers will accept checks only for the amount due in payment of fees, accounts receivable, loans and other student debts. Checks from foreign countries must be payable through a United States bank in U.S. dollars. The university can refuse two-party checks, altered checks and checks that will not photocopy. The university does not have the authority to waive late payment fees unless extraordinary circumstances warrant such a waiver or the university is primarily responsible for the delinquency.
Online payment navigation for tuition fees and other charges can be made via the my.ufl.edu portal by selecting Main Menu > My Campus Finances > Make-a-Payment.
There is no service charge for electronic check payments (EFT).
Payments via MasterCard, Discover or American Express will include a 2.6 percent service charge for tuition, fees and accounts receivable charges (e.g., laser print, library fines, parking decals, etc.).
International students can select the International Payments option, which provides a competitive rate of exchange for many international currencies.
International Students: The university no longer will refund monies in excess of the cost of tuition fees. International paper checks or demand drafts must be drawn on a United States bank in U.S. dollars and amounts cannot be greater than the amount due. Any payment that is more than the amount due will automatically be applied to a future term.
Payment via Visa credit card is not an option on my.ufl.edu. Visa does not allow the university's service charge. Also, cash and debit card payments are not payment options.
Returned electronic checks, EFT or paper checks will be charged a service fee of $25 if the returned payment is less than $50; $30 if the returned payment is $50.01 - $299.99 and $40 if the returned payment is $300 or more.
A $10 service fee will be charged if the bank information provided for the EFT payment is inaccurate for electronic funds transfer.
Payments for returned checks, returned EFT payments and the returned service fee must be paid by money order or cashier’s check.
A $10 service fee will be charged if the bank information provided for the EFT payment is inaccurate for electronic funds transfer. Payment for this type of return does not require a money order or a cashier’s check.
All financial obligations to the university will be applied on the basis of age of the debt. The oldest debt will be paid first.
Back to Top
Late Registration and Late Payment Fees
Late Registration Fee (6C1-3.037(3) Regulations of the University of Florida) – Any student who fails to register prior to the late registration date published in the academic calendar will be subject to the late registration fee of $100.
Late Payment Fee (6C1-3.037(4) Regulations of the University of Florida) – Any student who fails to pay all tuition fees due or to make appropriate arrangements for tuition fee payment (deferment or third party billing) by the fee payment deadline published in the academic calendar will be subject to a late payment fee of $100.
Waiver of Late Fees – A student who believes that a late fee should not be assessed because of university error or extraordinary circumstances that prevented all conceivable means of compliance by the deadline may petition for a waiver: Late registration fee – Office of the University Registrar; Late payment fee – University Bursar. The university reserves the right to require documentation to substantiate these circumstances.
Back to Top
Deferment or Waiver of Tuition Fees
Deferment extends the deadline for payment of tuition fees for a specific term. A tuition fee deferment is granted based on information from Student Financial Affairs (financial aid deferments) or the Office of the University Registrar (veterans). Refer questions on eligibility to the appropriate office. A tuition fee deferment must be established by the tuition fee payment deadline. A tuition fee deferment is provided to students in the following circumstances:
- Students receiving benefits from state or federal financial assistance programs.
- Students receiving veterans or other educational benefits under Chapter 30, Chapter 31, Chapter 32, Chapter 33, Chapter 34, Chapter 35, Chapter 1606 or Chapter 1607 of Title 38 U.S.C.; or
- Students for whom formal arrangements have been made with the university for payment by an acceptable third-party sponsor.
A $100 late payment fee will be assessed if a student fails to pay all tuition fees due by the deferment deadline.
Waiver of Tuition Fees – UF may waive tuition fees as follows:
- Any dependent child of a special risk member killed in the line of duty is entitled to a full waiver of undergraduate tuition fees, per Sections 112.19 and 112.191, Florida Statutes.
- Intern supervisors for institutions within the State University System may be given one nontransferable certificate (fee waiver) for each full academic term during which the person serves as an intern supervisor, pursuant to 1009.26(2), Florida Statutes. The certificate is valid for three years from the date of issuance. The maximum hours allowed during a single semester will be six hours of instruction (including credit through continuing education). The certificate will waive the matriculation fee; the student must pay the balance of the tuition fees by the established deadline.
- Persons 60 years of age or older who are Florida residents are entitled to a waiver of tuition fees for audited courses, as provided by Chapter 1009.26(4), Florida Statutes.
- Any student for whom the state is paying foster care board or any student adopted from the Department of Children and Family Services after May 5, 1997, is entitled to a waiver of tuition fees pursuant to Chapter 1009.25(2)(c), Florida Statutes.
- Certain members of active Florida National Guard are entitled to a waiver of tuition fees pursuant to Section 250.10, Florida Statutes.
- A student enrolled through the Florida Linkage Institutes Program is entitled to a waiver of tuition fees pursuant to Section 288.8175(6), Florida Statutes.
- Florida resident homeless tuition waiver pursuant to Chapter 1009.25.
The non-Florida student financial aid fee may not be waived for students receiving an out-of-state tuition fee waiver.
Back to Top
Nonpayment of Tuition Fees (6C1-3.037 Regulations of the University of Florida) - The university shall temporarily suspend further academic progress of any student who has not satisfied the entire balance of his/her fee liability by the established deadlines. This will be accomplished by placing a financial hold on the student’s record, which will prevent the student from receiving grades, transcripts and/or diploma, and the student’s registration will be denied for future terms until the account has been satisfied.
Students who have not paid any portion of their tuition fee liability by the established university deadline will continue to be held fee liable for these courses, but will not be allowed to attend these courses until payment is made in full and the student has been re-registered.
To re-register for courses, students must submit a completed petition to the Office of the University Registrar for review by the University Student Petitions Committee. Students who re-register after being withdrawn for nonpayment of tuition fees will be subject to both late registration and late payment fees.
Refund of Tuition Fees
The following circumstances may constitute a tuition fees refund:
- Credit hours dropped during drop/add.
- Courses cancelled by the university.
- Call to active military duty.
- Death of the student or member of the immediate family (parent, spouse, child, sibling).
- Illness of the student of such severity or duration, as confirmed in writing by a physician, that completion of the semester is precluded.
- Exceptional circumstances, upon approval of the university president or his designee.
A refund of 25 percent of the total fees paid (less late fees) is available for withdrawal of enrollment from the university prior to the end of the fourth week of classes for full semesters or a proportionately shorter period of time for the summer terms.
Refunds are issued by the University Bursar and will be applied against any university debts. The university reserves the right to set minimum amounts for which refunds will be produced for overpayments on student accounts.
Tuition refunds due to cancellation, withdrawal or termination of attendance for students receiving financial aid will first be refunded to the appropriate financial aid programs. If the student is a recipient of federal financial aid (Grad Plus Loan, Pell Grant, TEACH Grant, Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant (SEOG), Perkins Loan, Federal Direct Stafford Loans or PLUS loans), federal rules require that any unearned portion of the federal aid must be returned to the U.S. Department of Education.
The amount the student has earned is based on the number of days the student attended classes as compared to the number of days in the entire term (first day of classes to the end of finals week). Any remaining refund then will be returned according to university policy.
Deadlines - Deadlines are enforced. The university does not have the authority to waive late payment fees unless extraordinary circumstances warrant such waiver or the university is primarily responsible for the delinquency.
Back to Top
Florida Prepaid Tuition College Program
The Florida Prepaid College Program is a state of Florida administered program that provides Florida families affordable means to save for their children's future college education.
At the University of Florida, students with a Florida Prepaid account will not have to show their Florida Prepaid documentation. University Bursar works directly from an electronic file provided by the Florida Prepaid College Program. University Bursar matches that file to the names and social security numbers of enrolled UF students to determine eligibility and available hours that can be billed to the program.
University Bursar will automatically bill the Florida Prepaid Program for the tuition and applicable fees of eligible students.The program will be billed each term that a student is registered at UF and continues to have hours available.
Florida Prepaid Program has a variety of plans. However, no plan pays 100 percent of tuition and fees.
Listed below are fees that are not covered by a prepaid plan and must be paid by the fee payment deadline for each term to avoid assessment of a $100 late payment fee:
- Distance learning fees
- Equipment fees
- Late payment fees
- Late registration fees
- Material and supply fees
- Repeat course surcharge
- Transportation access fees
- Test fees
- Technology fees
Opting Out of Florida Prepaid:
Eligible students can choose to decline the use of the prepaid plan for a fall or spring term. Students can select the appropriate term online by following the easy instructions below:
- Go to my.ufl.edu and click on Access myUFL
- Enter your username and password
- From the Main Menu > My Campus Finances > Opt Out of Florida Prepaid
- Select the appropriate term(s) using the drop down arrow
- Click Save when finished
Fall and Spring Terms - The option to opt out online for the current term (fall or spring) must be completed prior to the fee payment deadline for that term. The online opt out option is not available on the fee payment deadline day; therefore, students choosing to opt out on the deadline day or those who need to cancel an online selection must contact University Bursar at (352) 392-9545 or email email@example.com. Please note, students must opt out each term they decline to use their prepaid plan. Only one academic year will be available online to opt out any given time.
Summer Sessions - Students who decline use of their prepaid plan for a summer session must contact University Bursar at (352) 392-9545 or email firstname.lastname@example.org before the fee payment deadline to opt out of that summer session.
Back to Top
Florida Prepaid and Financial Aid:
Students participating in the Florida Prepaid College Program who are also expecting to receive financial aid (i.e., Bright Futures, Pell, student loans, other scholarships/grants) will have the Florida Prepaid applied first to tuition and applicable fees. Financial aid received will be disbursed and applied to outstanding charges, which may include tuition and fees not covered by the program. Any excess financial aid that remains after debts have been paid will be refunded to the student (student/parent if PLUS Parent loan).
Study Abroad Programs and Distance Learning:
Students participating in any study abroad program or receiving instruction through flexible learning, also can bill the Florida Prepaid College Program. Students must contact the following departments for assistance with billing the prepaid program:
Study Abroad Programs
UF International Center, Study Abroad Services
170 HUB Stadium Road
Gainesville, FL 32611
Flexible Learning Courses
2124 NE Waldo Road, Suite 1101
Gainesville, FL 32609
Additional questions regarding the UF Florida Prepaid billing process?
Call University Bursar at (352) 392-9545 or email email@example.com
Questions about the Florida Prepaid Program
Back to Top
Call 1-800-552-4723 (552-GRAD)
General Fiscal Information
Students can pay the exact amount of tuition fees and/or other amounts owed the university online or at the University Bursar office. The online payment system at my.ufl.edu accepts American Express, MasterCard or Discover, electronic funds transfer from checking and international payments. Personal checks, cashier’s checks and money orders will be accepted at the 24-hour drop box located outside 113 Criser Hall. Payments on all financial obligations to the university will be applied on the basis of age of the debt. The oldest debt will be paid first.
University Bursar is not able to accept VISA credit cards, cash or debit payments and does not cash checks or make cash refunds.
It is the student’s responsibility to maintain a correct current address in the UF directory. Address changes should be made online at my.ufl.edu: from the Main Menu > My Campus Finances > Student Center.
Past-Due Student Accounts – All student accounts are payable at the University Bursar office or on my.ufl.edu at the time such charges are incurred. Graduating students with outstanding financial obligations will have a hold placed on their records withholding release of a diploma, transcript and other university services until the debt is satisfied.
University regulations prohibit the following for any student whose account with the university is delinquent until the debt has been satisfied:
- Release of transcript, diploma, grades or schedules
- The use of UF facilities and/or services
- Admission to UF functions and athletic events
Delinquent accounts, including those debts for which the student's records have a financial hold, may require payment by cashier’s check or money order.
Delinquent debts may be placed with a billing agent, reported to a credit bureau and referred to collection agencies without further notice or litigated, at which time additional collection costs will be assessed in accordance with Regulation 6C1-3.0376(20) of the University of Florida. All payments received are applied to the oldest debt first.
Back to Top